What is the Super Ballon d’Or and which footballers have won it? Is Messi among the GOAT?What is the Super Ballon d’Or and which footballers have won it? Is Messi among the GOAT?

The award is one of the most prestigious awards in world football

For the Super Ballon d’Or award, only European players were taken into consideration.

On December 24, 1989, the Super Ballon d’Or winner was announced. The honour was given to mark France Football Magazine’s 30th birthday.

Who has won the Super Ballon d’Or?

The legendary Alfredo Di Stéfano won the award, beating out Michel Platini and Johan Cruyff in the voting. Only players from Europe were eligible for the award, and Di Stéfano was nominated because he is a citizen of Spain. France Football, a French publication, has only been given the award once.

The Super Ballon d’Or has only ever been won once, by Di Stéfano. Amid Real Madrid’s dominance in the 1950s, the Real Madrid legend also took home the actual Ballon d’Or award twice, in 1957 and 1959. Also, between 1956 and 1960, Di Stéfano assisted Madrid in capturing the first five consecutive European Cups.

Who has won the Golden Ballon d’Or?

Diego Armando Maradona received the Golden Ballon d’Or, which also honoured players from outside of Europe, in 1995.

At the age of 88, Alfredo Di Stéfano passed away at the Gregorio Maraón General University Hospital in Madrid on July 7, 2014.

He won eight LaLiga championships, five consecutive European Cups, an Intercontinental Cup, two Copas Latinas, a Copa de Espaa, and a Small Club World Cup while playing for Los Blancos. Also, for Real Madrid, The Blond Arrow made 396 appearances and 308 goals.

It is the most impressive exceptional Ballon d’Or awarded, though it is not the only one. Also, after the rules were modified in 1995 to allow non-European players to compete in and win it,

Also, in January 2014, FIFA and “France Football” jointly presented Pelé with a second honorary award in recognition of his career and contributions to football.